Branching out from the normal OCR and training that I talk about, I found this gem by Margaret Schlachter from Dirt in Your Skirt. I never really knew what adventure racing was, but this post gives some insight from the eyes of a newbie on her first, let alone solo, race. Maybe I’ll start looking into this one for next year, rope a friend or 2 in to do it with. I wonder if there are places you can rent the bike and kayak? I don’t have awesome friends out there, capable of hooking me up.

Regardless, this is a great read and some of her race day prep is reminiscent of what I did last year before my first of 2 Fenway Stadium Sprint races. Nothing wrong with a little day drinking, so long as you somehow counter it before the race.

Read the source article at Dirt in Your Skirt

